23
Mar
16

 ANGER vs. RESENTMENT


According to some in recovery, we should never get angry. They say anger will always lead to relapse, but does it? Is anger the same as resentment? Is there a difference? Is it possible that anger may even be a healthy and normal emotion? Join Eve, Bruce and the Monty’man as they discuss Anger vs. Resentment. Closing song, “A Call to Arms” by Jamie Alker.

2 Responses to “ ANGER vs. RESENTMENT”


  1. March 23, 2016 at 6:40 pm

    I think that anger is a healthy and normal emotion and that recovery people who say we should never get angry because we should always “look at our part in things” are suppressing what can be a perfectly legitimate human emotion. I find it incredibly difficult to express anger in recovery (I was 11 years clean at the beginning of this year). In fact during an entire relationship where I was verbally abused and bullied and subject to threatening behaviour I was never able to express my anger as I was so dependent on him. When I did finally explode he hit me and smashed up the house. There is a big difference between legitimate anger when someone has wronged you and an unjustified resentment against somebody. Unjustified resentments are dangerous as is screaming your head off at people when you are angry like so many of us did in active addiction. But I think expressing anger at someone who has wronged you is entirely healthy and should be encouraged in recovery.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,028 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 7,410 hits

